Stubble Burning, Air Quality Commission

Stubble Burning: M.M. Kutty appointed as chairperson of Air Quality Commission in Delhi-NCR

Former Chief Secretary of Delhi MM Kutty on Thursday appointed as the chairperson of the Air Quality Commission in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas. This appointment is especially to keep a serious check on Stubble Burning. Kutty has also been the former Secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas.

According to the sources, Professor Mukesh Khare, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi and Ramesh K J, Ex-Director General, India Meteorological Department (IMD) have been appointed as the full-time technical members of the Commission.

This commission can impose a penalty of one crores and imprisonment for 5 years on polluters. The commission shall have the power to lay down parameters of air quality, parameters of discharge of environmental pollutants, to inspect premises violating the law, ordering closure of non-abiding industries/plants etc., according to the ordinance.

Arvind Kumar Nautiyal, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change will be the full-time member of the panel. Prof. IIT Delhi Mukesh Khare, former Director General of IMD, Ramesh KJ has been appointed as a full-time technical member of the commission.

The government has also arranged for 9 ex-officio members, which will have 7 members and 2 technical members. Similarly, in Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, the Chief Secretary or in-charge secretary of the department dealing with environmental protection has also been approved for appointment as an ex-officio member.