Bihar Elections 2020

Bihar Election Phase 1: Polling Begins in 71 Assembly constituencies in the State

Patna: Polling has began in 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar in the first phase of three-phase elections on Wednesday morning. Tight security and COVID-19 guidelines are fully managed. 

BJP President JP Nadda on Wednesday appealed to voters to follow all Covid-19 guidelines. "First phase of polling for Bihar assembly elections is being held today. I appeal to people to take part in the grand festival of democracy while keeping Covid-related precautions in mind," Nadda said.

Of the 243 seats, 71 assembly constituencies in 16 districts, including most of the LWE (Left-wing extremism) affected districts, are voting in the first phase of the Bihar elections. The fight is between the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which comprises the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal (United) JD(U) among others, and Mahagathbandhan or Grand Alliance that is made up of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Left parties.